A Log of Monologues

Monologue

From time to time I become smitten with an element of craft. These days, I’m head over heels for monologues.

In this blog, I’ll list a few of the memorable soliloquies I’ve encountered in my readings. Check these links for Retrospective Narrators and Linked Story collections.

Please share your favorite monologue in the comments. And do drop back for updates.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • grace paleyIn Grace Paley’s “Goodbye and Good Luck,” big-hearted and oversized Aunt Rose embarrasses her niece with stories of her unconventional life as mistress to the Russian Art Theatre’s greatest star, among others. Her tales finally told, Rose asks Lillie to perform her own monologue: “tell this story to your mama from your young mouth. She don’t listen to a word from me…Tell her after all I’ll have a husband, which, as everybody knows, a woman should have at least one before the end of the story.”

 

  • Marilynne Robinson followed her success in Housekeeping with Gilead, winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize. In 1956, toward the end of Reverend John Ames’s life, he writes a letter to his young son to help the boy understand his father’s love and family’s long sense of religion and justice. “If you’re a grown man when you read this—it is my intention for this letter that you will read it then—I’ll have been gone a long time. I’ll know most of what there is to know about being dead, but I’ll probably keep it to myself. That seems to be the way of things.”

One thought on “A Log of Monologues

  1. Pingback: Review: Playing Custer | Jo Haraf

Leave a Reply

