Toe in the Ocean


In the past, I’ve waded in the bay of business and technical writing. An article here. A book review there. I even co-authored Achieving Excellence in Legal Technology Management with legal experts I’ve long respected. And then at the end of March, I put my first, and second, toes in more traditional literary waters.

First, the California Writers Club Literary Review featured my poem “With Regret” on the true nature of California’s coastal fog. Many thanks to Dr. James Tipton for his inspirational “write a myth” prompt.

Then, Ragnarok Spring 2013 (Ragnarok the e-lit journal) published one of my flash fiction stories. At just over nine hundred words, “Cherry” tells how an old car jump-starts a new love.

Gob smacked and inspired by their recognition, I dove into rewrite sixteen (or was that sixty?) on my novel of Lord Byron, his wife and daughters – legitimate and not.

My first semester in Pacific’s MFA program ends in five weeks. I’m looking forward to my next trip to Oregon but the ‘tween term break will allow me to send a few more stories out for publication. Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “Toe in the Ocean

  1. Sixteen or was it 60? Ain’t it the truth? Very cool blog.

    And thanks for the contest announcements. Will include.

    Have a great day.

    S

  2. Oh how I love this! Have learned tidbits about Ada and her charming family that are delightful. And there’s more goodies here to tickle my mind. I’m forwarding this to my neighbor, Betty A. Toole, author of Ada, Enchantress of Numbers. Seems like you’re having a blast, Jo. XO Judy

Leave a Reply

